Camaldolese monastery San Giorgio
From Bardolino, Lake Garda, a path leads up to Monte San Giorgio, to the monastery of the same name. The Order was founded in 1663 by a group of Camaldolese from Monte Rua.
Work on the monastery finished in 1704. In 1810, it was occupied by the Napoleonic soldiers and settled by peasants who used the area mainly for agriculture. From 1885, with the retreat of the troops, the monks of the hermit order returned to the monastery.
Surrounded by nature above Lake Garda, the pilgrimage site offers a beautiful view of the area. Visitors have the opportunity to participate in various masses or seminars. Also, the monastery provides ten beds for those who want to experience the monastic life and to continue their spiritual education. All visitors are asked to follow the rules of silence and meditation.
Monaci Benedettini Camaldolesi
Eremo di San Giorgio
Tel. +39 045.7211390