Holidays in San Felice del Benaco
Do you know the old name of Lake Garda? The solution to the riddle lies in the title: In the past, Lake Garda was called Benaco. The village of San Felice del Benaco, to the west of Lake Garda, still bears witness to this today.
San Felice del Benaco is located directly on Lake Garda with its picturesque Portese harbour. The real village centre, however, is located on a hill with many narrow streets and narrow angles.
Sightseeing tour in San Felice
The stately parish church of San Felice del Benaco rises between the winding streets, shops and restaurants. The baroque church is one of the most impressive churches on Lake Garda. This is due to the altarpiece of the Brescian painter Romanino, the ceiling frescoes by Carlo Carloni and the Roman stone on the outer church wall, which is said to be dedicated to Neptune.
Other attractions in San Felice del Benaco include the small 15th-century San Dermo church and the Madonna del Carmine pilgrimage church, which houses hundreds of Madonna images. The guesthouses, hotels and apartments in San Felice del Benaco are ideal for a holiday mix of cultural enjoyment and beach life at Lake Garda.
- The Isola del Garda is the biggest island of Lake Garda and is located between San Felice del Benaco and Salò.
- The landscape around San Felice del Benaco is characterised by picturesque vineyards, olive trees and cypresses.
- The dreamlike village of San Felice del Benaco with the unique Isola del Garda in the background.
- Villa Scipione Borghese on the Lake Garda Island
Sights in San Felice del Benaco
The parish church of San Felice del Benaco is dedicated to the martyrs Felice, Adauto and Flavia. It has a sizeable Baroque interior, dominated by a large oval dome. The altarpiece is by the Breschian painter Romanino. The ceiling frescoes, however, were made between 1759 and 1761 by Carlo Carloni in Baroque style. There is also a Roman stone dedicated to Neptune on the outside wall of the church.
Sanctuary of Madonna del Carmine
The pilgrimage church was built in the 15th century as a monastery church in San Felice del Benaco. The monastery was closed after 200 years and only reopened in 1952 by the Carmelites. Those who visit it will be impressed by the rich fresco painting in the interior, which is mainly attributed to the late Gothic and Renaissance styles. In the church, the miraculous Madonna figure "Patrona della Valtenesi" is worshipped. Also noteworthy are the many striking Madonna pictures in the church.